Tags

, , ,

Finding breadcrumbs can be oddly challenging.  Finding bread is usually a 50/50 shot, so you’d think breadcrumbs would be similar.  Not so.  So I’ve coped mainly by avoiding recipes that call for breadcrumbs or by altering recipes that call for breadcrumbs.  At this point, however, I have found two great dairy-free breadcrumb brands that I would recommend:

  1. Ian’s Gluten-free Italian Style Panko Breadcrumbs: this is the one I’ve been using for two years now.  They have the right texture, are wonderfully seasoned and work in all the recipes I’ve tried.  They are dairy-free, gluten-free, egg-free, peanut-free, tree-nut-free, wheat-free and soy-free.  In other words, they are pretty major-allergen-free.
  2. 4C Crumbs (gluten-free, plain): I discovered this brand last week.  So if I like Ian’s breadcrumbs so much, why did I buy a new brand?  Well, I have a friend who is allergic to yeast, and Ian’s breadcrumbs do contain yeast.  4C Crumbs contain: rice flour, raisin juice concentrate, honey and salt.  Like Ian’s breadcrumbs, 4C Crumbs have a great texture and seem to work just like old fashioned breadcrumbs.  There isn’t any seasoning, though, so be sure to add your own.  Honestly, this is a benefit in a lot of ways because you can create your own flavor profile.  I’m excited to use this brand in many more recipes!
