Tags

, ,

A few weeks ago, my husband and I had some friends visit who expressed how much healthier they felt after switching to a completely vegan diet.  While, at the moment, we’re not looking to take that step, we did recently decide to try to eat vegan once a week.  This was our first vegan meal after making that goal.  And I have to say, we didn’t miss meat at all!

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp minced garlic
2 large sweet potatoes, chopped into small pieces
4 Tbsp olive oil
29 oz can of black beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup vegetable broth*
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp lemon juice
4 cups of cooked jasmine rice

Directions:

  1. In a large sauté pan, sauté garlic and sweet potatoes in olive oil for about 5 minutes on medium high heat.
  2. Reduce heat to medium low and add beans, vegetable broth, seasonings and lemon juice.  Bring to a simmer, cover the pan and cook for about 25-30 minutes.
  3. Once the sweet potatoes are soft, serve over rice. Enjoy!

 

*Since I’m allergic to celery, it was difficult to find vegetable broth I can have.  I eventually found that Knorr makes vegetable bouillon cubes (which are dairy and celery free).  I used these bouillon cubes to make my own vegetable broth for this recipe.

