Tags

, , ,

xebchoux_400x400

I’m pretty open about my food challenges at work.  To explain a little: food is a big part of the culture my workplace.  Going out to eat to celebrate different events, bringing food in for every birthday and holiday, Friday night socials, you name it we have food for it.  Needless to say, I often either bring along my own food or choose to just enjoy the company.  Now, my workplace has been wonderful about my food challenges.  They’ve made every effort when we go out to eat or bring in catering to make sure I can join in.  They’ve worked with me every step of the way to figure out the best way to handle my food challenges.

So why what happened yesterday surprised me, I do not know.  I was taking lunch in my office and there’s a knock on my door.  I let them know to come in, and in walks our legal administrator (essentially one of my bosses).  She hands me this pamphlet and says that she thought I would find it useful.  It was a pamphlet for AllergyEats, a website (and also an app) dedicated to helping those with allergies and intolerances find safe restaurants to eat at.

First, I wanted to give a shout out to my place of work and, specifically, my legal administrator.  Thank you!  I know my food challenges are often hard to understand and accommodate, but you’ve been wonderful!  Even if you don’t get it, you somehow get it.  And for that I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your thoughtfulness.  I can’t thank you enough.

Second, if you have any food challenges, you should check out AllergyEats (https://www.allergyeats.com/).  I’ve already tried its search function and can’t wait to eat at some of the new restaurants I’ve discovered in my area!

Third, AllergyEats is a peer-reviewed directory of restaurants, so please go on and rate your experiences to better aid our allergy community!  The more reviews they have, the easier it will be for all of us to find delicious, accommodating places to eat.

