Tags

, , , ,

logo_maple_grill_finish_jpg_400x400

Another huge hit in Vancouver, the Maple Grill is a Kosher restaurant located on Broadway near the Burrard Bridge.  One of the requirements of Kosher cooking is the complete separation of meat and dairy products.  So any meal with a meat component cannot also contain a dairy component.  Since this particular Kosher restaurant was a grill…yeah, it was nice to be able to order pretty much anything off the menu.  In fact, I think the only thing I couldn’t order was dessert.  I’m pretty sure the rest of the menu was dairy-free!

After much debate on what to order (I’m not quite used to having so many options), I ordered the Herb Crusted Chicken Breast (“gently grilled”) with Roasted Baby Potatoes, Mushroom Gravy, Seared Lemon and Seasonal Vegetables.  Of all the menu items, why this one?  Because I saw the word “gravy” and thought about the last time I was able to order a gravy at a restaurant.  Hint: I couldn’t recall a “last time”…  Being able to order something with a gravy just made me smile.  Sometimes it’s the little things in life!  The chicken was moist and well-seasoned, the gravy was delicious (on both the chicken and the potatoes) and I enjoyed every minute of a restaurant experience where dairy wasn’t really an issue at all.

They are open from Sunday to Thursday and have take out available on Friday (as they observe the Shabbat), and if you’re in Vancouver, I highly recommend this restaurant (visit their website here)!  Overall, I found the price reasonable and the food and service excellent.

 

