Tags

, , , , , , ,

The first, and last, stop on my too short Vancouver culinary journey was an adorable little hole-in-the-wall diner called The Wallflower.  The Wallflower has a regular and a vegan menu, providing options for a variety of different people, and they self-describe themselves as “Omnivores, Carnivores, Vegan, Vegetarian and Celiacs” friendly.  Importantly, they understand their business.  I’m not vegan, but I can’t have lactose (so I’m dairy-free whenever I eat out).  They understood that and helped me mix both menus to have a wonderful meal.  Two meals, in fact: lunch the day we flew in and breakfast before hopping on our cruise ship.

We flew into Vancouver at eleven a.m. the day before we were set to cruise and were more than ready for lunch by the time we found our luggage and checked into our hotel.  We were meeting my parents and brother (and later my husband’s family), so we had a plan that they would eat at The Wallflower and pick my husband and I up some wraps to eat in the car.  I turn on my phone and there’s this text from my mother asking where in the world I sent them to eat, since they were not expecting the eclectic little diner.  Not long after I received a text saying that the food is incredible, never mind the last text.

When they showed up with our wraps, mine was labeled “ALLERGY”.  Needless to say, there was no confusion about whose food was whose.  They understood that I wanted to have the regular Chicken Wrap, just with a few allergy-friendly changes.  They didn’t question anything other than making sure I could eat tomato.  My mother was impressed with their thoroughness and understanding.  And the wrap was probably the best wrap I’ve had in a long time.  I wish we weren’t across the continent because I’d love to be nearby just to sample more of their food!

Luckily, my husband and I were already planning on eating breakfast there.  Breakfast is always my hardest meal to eat out (not that the other meals are particularly easy), but the half vegan menu was exciting because it meant options!  I had their eggs benedict with vegan sauce and vegan bread.  It was delicious!  Way too much food for me, but that just made me wish my stomach was bigger!  Judge for yourself:

20160729_092031

It was as good as it looks.  And, once again, I’m really wishing I could frequent this restaurant!

 

