Tags

, ,

Thought I’d share one of my favorite breakfast dishes (when I have time to cook in the morning).  I hope you love it as much as I do!

Ingredients:
8 eggs
1 cup almond milk
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1-2 tablespoon(s) earth balance butter
6 pieces of Italian bread cut about a half an inch to an inch thick each

Directions:

  1. Mix together eggs, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar in a shallow dipping bowl.
  2. Soak bread in the egg mixture for a few minutes on each side or dip bread in egg mixture ensuring all the bread is completely covered.
  3. Melt the butter in a pan or skillet over medium or medium-high heat.
  4. Add soaked bread to pan and cook until the bread caramelizes and browns.

Note: The bread is best if slightly stale. To simulate this (without waiting for your bread to go stale), wrap the bread in aluminum foil and toast in the oven until slightly firm.

Extras: I love serving mine with syrup, powdered sugar and earth balance butter.  Yum!

