Tags

, ,

This past Saturday, I was planning on making a pork tenderloin, but when I opened the package my tenderloin was somehow sliced down the middle (longways).  So, I sliced my two pieces of tenderloin into 1 cm thick medallions and made a little sauce with fettuccine.  The sauce had a really light, mild taste that was just perfect.  A very nice surprise.

Ingredients for meat:
Canola oil (enough to cover the pan you’re using to cook the pork)
Add a teaspoon of garlic
1 lb of pork tenderloin cut first in half lengthwise and then into 1 cm thick medallions
salt and pepper

Ingredients for sauce:
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup sweet white wine (I used a Moscato)
14.5 oz can of chicken broth
1 teaspoon of parsley flakes
1 tablespoon of Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Spread (I used Soy-free)
1.5 teaspoons of salt
1/2 tablespoon of garlic
2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese (aged 24 months or more)

Pasta:
1 lb fettuccine (cooked to package instructions)

Directions:

  1. Season the medallions on both sides with salt and pepper.
  2. Heat the oil in a pan with a substantial lip (you’ll be cooking the sauce in the same pan).  Add the garlic and lightly brown.
  3. Turn heat down to medium and add the medallions.  Cook medallions for about 2 minutes on each side.  Repeat until all the medallions are cooked.
  4. After medallions are cooked start making the sauce in the same pan with all the drippings.  Add the lemon juice, wine, chicken broth parsley flakes, butter, salt and garlic.
  5. Reduce down sauce until the alcohol is burnt off.
  6. In a mixing bowl, add cooked fettuccine and medallions.  Pour sauce over the pasta and medallions and stir.  Add Parmesan cheese and stir.
  7. Serve.

    The sauce is pretty thin and liquidy, but that just makes it all the better for leftovers.  And I just love the flavor it adds.  I also added some extra Parmesan after I took my portion (like I do with most other pasta).

