Tags

, ,

I love cheese.  If there is one thing I miss (other than the convenience of not having food challenges) it’s cheese.  Daiya’s Mozzarella-Style Shreds was the first cheese-substitute recommended to me, and it remains one of my favorites.  I frequently use the shreds as a quick snack on chips.  Just grab some tostitos, throw on a bunch of the shreds and nuke it in the microwave for maybe a minute (depends on how much cheese you use).  It makes for a wonderful snack!  I also use the shreds to make my lactose-free alfredo sauce (always a hit).

This is also one of the most common dairy-free products I’ve seen in a store.  It probably ranks third most common, right behind almond milk and the Earth Balance Buttery Spread.  Because of this, it’s a great place to start in your lactose-free/dairy-free adventure.  For just one more reason to try this product, the Daiya website does provide recipes to try with their products.

As a small disclaimer, I personally do not believe the shreds taste like actual mozzarella.  It can also take a little getting used to.  That said, I really do love this product.

kmaa1342csb20160411_181412

