Tags

, , ,

It’s not until you go lactose-free/dairy-free that you realize how many recipes use butter.  And with the main substitute that people know of being margarine, which contains lactose, that was a scary prospect.  You can substitute butter with oil (olive oil, canola oil, etc.), but for someone who used to love buttered pasta that just wouldn’t work.

Needless to say, I was thrilled to discover Earth Balance’s Buttery Spreads.  With five different types currently on the market, this “butter” was perfect for every day cooking, pasta, etc.  I tend to use their baking sticks if I’m baking, but more on that another time.  You can choose a “butter” that’s right for your family.  Like all Earth Balance products, the buttery spreads are “100% plant-based, vegan, non-GMO, lactose-free, egg-free, casein-free [and] have 0g of trans fat” (per their website here).

While I’ve had a few different butter spreads, and they all have been excellent, I tend to purchase the soy-free “butter”, just because I try to reduce the amount of soy in my diet if it’s easily done.  The soy-free “butter” tastes the same to me as the original “butter”, so I have no complaints with either.  It acts almost exactly like butter in cooking situations, and I think the taste is great.  Needless to say, I’m a fan.

eb_soyfree_lg

