Tags

, , , , , ,

Ciao, amici!

One of the things I miss most about being lactose-free is easily enjoying Italian cooking.  Not a problem at Mama’s Restaurant and Café Baci located in Hackettstown, NJ!  Along with a full regular menu of Italian favorites, Mama’s offers separate gluten-free, vegetarian and vegan menus.  Being lactose-free, I always order from the vegan menu, while my husband orders from the regular menu.  Takes a lot of the stress away from dining out!

Usually when I look at the vegan options at a non-vegan restaurant, I’m relatively disappointed since I’m not a “just vegetables” type of girl.  Not at Mama’s.  Their five page menu features everything from appetizers to desserts.  My favorite meal combination?  An appetizer order of the vegan bruschetta, followed by the vegan gnocchi pesto and finished with the death by chocolate cake.  The servings are huge, so I always have at least a day’s worth of leftovers.

Eight different desserts are offered, and that’s normally the hardest thing to find on the menu!  Vegan pizzas and stromboli are also available using dairy-free cheese, so if the rest of the family decides to get pizza I don’t feel left out.  You can either dine in the restaurant or order to go, making Mama’s perfect when I’m going to a family event and didn’t have the chance to cook my own entree.

There’s also a feeling of family there.  Never do I feel like I’m inconveniencing the waitstaff or chefs.  I always feel welcomed and like my food challenges aren’t all that challenging.  I highly recommend at least visiting once (and if you’re anything like me, you’ll be back again).

You can view their menus here.

Arrivederci!

mamas-header

