Tags

, ,

I’m not typically a seafood person, so I made a ham and chicken Jambalaya.  I did cook some shrimp separately for my husband to add in, but this is one of those dishes where you can go “well…I have these meats/seafood/shellfish in the fridge…let’s make jambalaya!”

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 cloves garlic
1 sweet onion
1 green bell pepper
1 teaspoon (or to taste) Italian seasoning
red pepper flakes to taste (I don’t do well with spicy, so I put about 1/4 teaspoon)
1 ham steak*
1 lb of diced chicken (I diced chicken tenderloins)*
(*really any meat or seafood you want.)
2 14.5oz cans of chicken broth
1.5 cups of semi-dry white wine
1.5 cups of white rice
1 15oz can of tomato sauce
water as needed.

Recipe:

1. Dice the sweet onion and bell pepper. Mince the garlic.
2. Heat the vegetable oil in large skillet at medium-high temperature (I used an electric skillet at 375, but this will be just as easy in a dutch oven or large pan).  Note: this recipe starts out relatively condensed by the rice grows quite a bit.  Use a bigger pan.
3. Put onion, green bell pepper, and the garlic in the heated pan.  Stir the ingredients frequently for about 2 minutes.
4.  Add the chicken to the pan.  Stir for about one minute.  Add one can of chicken broth, the wine, the tomato sauce, ham, spices and the rice.  Put a lid on the pan and reduce heat to medium-low. Stir every five minutes.
5. When the rice starts getting dried out, add the second can of chicken broth.  Put lid on and continue to stir every five minutes.  If the liquid is once again absorbed, add water as needed (you want the Jambalaya to be moisturized, not liquidy).
6. The Jambalaya is finished when the rice is no longer crunchy (based on your taste, from al dente to  soft).

